What to See When Visiting Seattle on Foot – Part 1

visiting seattle

If there’s one thing I enjoy doing when I travel is to explore places on foot. Whenever you have a car, you are constantly thinking about street signs, who’s right of way is it, or what way you should turn, not to mention finding a place to park. Horrible! But when you’re on foot, you get to take your time and really see what the city you are at is all about. Seattle, despite the many hills, is a great place to visit and on foot. There’s a lot you can see within walking distance and tons of coffee shops to take breaks. Not to mention that most locals get around on foot so you really feel like you’re a part of the city.

I decided to write this post in 7 parts since there’s a lot of things you can do in Seattle and I don’t want to bore you with a huge post and tons of images. Seattle is quite big so before sharing the places you can walk in the city, I’d like to share with you some of the things need to keep some things in mind before you get there.

People Walking

Things to Keep in Mind When Visiting Seattle on Foot

  1. Look up public transport options online. This I believe is crucial to being able to visit a new place mainly on foot. You want to walk, but you also want the option of being able to catch a train, or a bus if needed. Seattle is really good for that. Despite the fact that there’s only one metro line, it connects the airport to the main areas of the city. The price of the tickets depend on your final destination ranging from $2.25 to $3.50 –  which I think is a fair price, considering that the airport is quite far from the city. Another great thing about Seattle is that public transport is not limited, like most cities in the United States. You can easily get on a bus and go pretty much everywhere. There are many routes and the buses do their routes quite often. The price of the bus fare is $2.75. You can easily find which buses to get and where to stop with a quick search on either Google Maps or Bing (Yes, I use Bing. They give me points, which I convert to money at Starbucks).
  2. Think about where you want to stay. We choose to stay at an Airbnb in Capitol Hill. I though it was a great choice since the neighborhood itself is quite lively and there is a metro station in the heart of the neighborhood – which was a couple of blocks from our apartment. From Capitol Hill, it’s a 20 to 30 min walk from most of the main sights to see in Seattle. But if you don’t want to walk, as I’ve mentioned before, you can take the bus or the metro to shorten the distances.
  3. Have a list of what you want to see and their distances to where you are staying. It’s important to know what you want to see ahead of time. I had a list of what I wanted to see and the addresses in my bullet journal. I also checked the distances and walking times of all the destinations beforehand so it would help me better organize my time when I was there. Also, it will familiarize you with the city so you won’t get lost as easily. It works for me. (I also use a very an app to help guide when traveling, but I’ll talk about that another time).

Do some online research ahead of time. This will allow you to spend more time enjoying the sights rather than being lost in the city.

Up the Stairs

These tips I had to learn the hard way, to be honest. After a bad experience in Los Angeles, I realized that planning ahead and figuring out how to get around without needing a car makes the whole experience of visiting a new city a lot more pleasant when you know you don’t need a car. In the end, I think that these three tips are super helpful not only in Seattle but anywhere you decided to go.

Do you have anything you always keep in mind when traveling?
What’s your helpful travel tip?

Follow me on  Facebook – Bloglovin – Instagram

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

2 Replies to “What to See When Visiting Seattle on Foot – Part 1”

Leave a Reply

