How I Started to Wanderlust

My very first memory as a small infant is on an airplane with my family while we were moving to Europe for my dad’s graduate studies. I remember camping with my family in Europe and seeing some sights that most people only dream of seeing. I blame my need for Wanderlust on that experience. Being just a child and still craving for new landscapes and different views. When we moved back to Brazil, I remember being really excited about the Christmas Holidays since we would go on road trips to different states and visit family. My brothers hated being stuck in a car for 5-12 hours depending on where we were going; I, on the other hand, loved it. The whole process was fun to me, from packing to seeing the Atlantic Forest, the Coast and all the different signs along the road. But what really changed the game for me was my first solo trip to somewhere new. I was about to turn 18 and start college. My dad asked if I wanted to spend a week at a Christian Camp and I jumped at the idea of traveling on my own.

Since then, I have visited 5 different countries and most of the major cities in Brazil – my home country. And each time I travel I feel the need to go somewhere new. When I started dating my husband, I knew of his aspirations of doing his graduate studies abroad. I remember telling him that if need be, I could easily move with him. And here I am today, living in California. But this is not the first time as an adult that I’ve lived abroad. In 2011 I lived for about 5 months in Cape Town, South Africa, for my English studies.

Table Mountain Bloubergstrand Cape Town
This picture of me was taken in July 2011 while I was in Cape Town, South Africa. That mountain behind me is the famous Table Mountain. The picture was taken at Bloubergstrand Beach.

Here’s a quick list of the places I’ve traveled/lived in as a grown up.

  • Brazil
    • Florianopolis
    • Porto Alegre
    • Curitiba
    • Sao Paulo
    • Brasilia
    • Belo Horizonte
    • Fortaleza
    • Vitoria
  •  Argentina
    • Buenos Aires
    • Cordoba
  • Uruguay
    • Montevideo
  • South Africa
    • Cape Town
    • Johannesburg
    • Cape of Good Hope
  • United States
    • Florida
    • Arizona
    • Washington
    • Oregon
      • Portland
    • California
    • Nevada
      • Reno
      • Las Vegas
    • Texas
      • San Antonio
      • El Passo
    • Georgia
      • Atlanta
      • Stone Mountain
  • Canada

My husband and I are moving again in the summer to southern California. And I’m excited about the opportunity to see and explore new places while we are here in the United States. Also, being married to a philosopher makes it easy to travel, since there are philosophy conferences everywhere. Oh! It’s important to add that my husband wanderlusts as much as I do – that helps too. We have a deal that we’ll go somewhere new at least once a year. Meanwhile, we’ll continue to see the different places around us.

How did you start to Wanderlust?

Follow me on  Facebook – Bloglovin – Instagram

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

wanderlust

16 thoughts on “How I Started to Wanderlust

  1. I have always liked to travel. I inherited wanderlust from my mother. She and my dad were always going to some faraway destination. As a kid, we’d go on trips in the U.S., sometimes camping. The first time I went abroad was in high school. I went to an unconventional school in Arizona. Every year we took a short field trip and a long field trip. The short trips were to places in Arizona and New Mexico. Once I went on a 4-day backpacking trip in the Grand Canyon. The long field trips were to Mexico or the Navajo Reservation. We’d go for 2-3 weeks. After that I traveled as much as possible. I fell in love with Brazil and went there several times. I’ve also been to Europe and Central America. I want to go to China next year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The backpacking trip in the Grand Canyon sounds amazing! My husband and I want to go there again, but without the cats next time.
      China sounds like an exciting trip too!
      Thanks for sharing your story with me. It;s interesting to see that our parents are the ones that usually shape wanderlust into us. Hopefully, when I have kids, I’ll be able to shape it in them.

      Like

  2. That is an amazing list you have! I travelled as a baby then as a child regularly just across the North Sea from England to Holland (to visit family). Back then we didn’t have a car and travelled by taxi, train, boat then train again. Many years later (aged 52) my dreams are always about journeys….it stays with you!! Even relatively short trips.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

