Sunday Watch: The OA

Have you ever been in TV limbo? TV limbo is when you’ve finished all the TV shows you watch and then you have no idea what to watch next? Since our family’s favorite activity as a couple is binge watching TV, we end up in TV limbo very often. Last time we were there we decided to give The OA, one of Netflix’s originals, a chance… and boy oh boy were in for a surprise!

netflix-the-oa

Prairie Johnson (Brit Marling) is a young woman that had been 7 years missing, once she is found, her parents are in shock since she was blind and now she was able to see. But that wasn’t the only things that had changed, she now calls herself The OA. The OA is now more private and does not want to share with her family what had happened to her during those 7 years. Until she meets Steven (Patrick Gibson) a troubled teenager that is being threatened by his parents to go to military school if he doesn’t change his attitude. The OA and Patrick strike a deal that she will help him get out of a certain trouble at school if he helps her find 5 people that can help her on her mission. And… I think I’ll stop right here. I don’t want people shouting at me that I’ve shared too many spoilers.

 

Both my husband and I had seen the trailer for the show, still, we had no clue what the show was really about. But when we heard that it was produced by Brad Pitt’s production company, Plan B, we were intrigued – I tend to like the movies that he’s in. As a matter of fact, Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij, the creators/writers of the show had been pitching the show to various procedures for almost three years until they finally landed on Plan B. Story goes that they struggled in trying to get producers to understand what the story was about, which I totally get.

The OA has been compared to another Netflix Original Stranger Things. Personally, I have no idea why people are comparing the two, I guess it’s because they are extremely original, in the sense that you cannot compare either to anything else on TV right now. The OA is extremely intriguing and you are constantly trying to understand what is going on, but there is information missing which will only be presented to the viewer in future episodes. Speaking of episodes, this is another thing about this show that makes it stand out, they last from 30 to 70 minutes. Each episode is a separate part in The OA’s life, so it makes perfect sense to have some episodes shorter than others. If you are looking for something truly different that will leave you puzzled and at the same time wanting more, you should definitely put The OA on your list.

  • Where to watchNetflix
  • How long are the episodes: average 60′
  • IMDB rating: 7.9/10
  • My rating: 9.0/10

 

Follow me on  Facebook – Bloglovin – Instagram

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

9 thoughts on “Sunday Watch: The OA

  1. The OA was so interesting! I have to say that some of the “moves” were quite bizarre but otherwise it was very interesting! 🙂 Have you seen Thirteen Reasons Why yet?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with the bizarre moves. I’m dying for the next season, maybe it’ll clarify something.
      I have not started 13 reasons why, yet. I think im going to start it today. It’s so polemic that I have to see it for myself.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I binge watched it! I thought it was good although I can see why it’s quite controversial. I loved Stranger Things the most ❤️❤️ Now I’m waiting for the new season of Sense 8!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I didn’t notice that some episodes were longer than others. I have to say I was wonderfully captivated by this show. I watched the entire season in two days and my mouth hung open for the duration of it. I had to keep reminding myself to close my darn mouth hahah! It truly is wonderful, I cannot wait for another season to be released. I hope they answer a lot of questions. The details are so beautiful and intricate, and I will say it is quite moving too. A show that truly makes you forget where you are and who you are for an hour or two.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

