5 Days in Seattle and Portland

5 Days pin

One of the perks of being married to an academic is the fact that every now and again he goes to conferences in some really cool places. Last year we visited Calgary in Canada, and this year we went to Seattle, WA, and Portland, OR. We spent three days in Seattle and two in Portland and we were so lucky to barely get any rain while we were there. Here is just a quick look at what this mini-vacation looked like.

Seattle, WA

Day 1

We arrived in Seattle around 10 a.m. and went straight to our AirBnB in Capitol Hill using Seattle’s Link Trains. From the airport to the city center is $3,00 dollars and you can get the ticket at the station. It’s pretty simple and effective. Once we arrived, my husband was starving and we decided to go straight to Pike Place Market and see what we could heat over there. We also started to explore the area and check out some interesting sights for me to later explore with my camera. Once we grabbed lunch, we decided to walk to the Seattle Center, where the Space Needle and MoPop are, and explore a little the area to check what kinds of things we could do there with our friend that was arriving later in the afternoon. Once our friend arrived, we went out to explore Capitol Hill and grab something to eat.

Day 2

This was the one day that my husband was stuck at the philosophy conference, which was perfect for me to “nerd out” and take pictures of the sights. I got ready and took the Link Train to Pioneer Square and then check out the Hidden Waterfalls at the UPS building. After that, I started to walk towards the waterfront and check out the Great Wheel of Seattle. I had lunch plans with a friend that had just moved to Seattle from Sacramento at Pike Place Market, so I headed there with also the intentions of taking pictures of the market and the Gum Wall – yes, there is such a thing. Once lunch was done, I headed to the hotel where the philosophy conference was happening to make some calls and wait for my husband, we had some drinks with our friends there, and when he had to go back to the philosophy stuff, I headed to the Olympic Sculpture Park to nerd out again. Later, we had dinner and walked back to our place in Capitol Hill.

Day 3

Day three started with breakfast with some friends from the philosophy conference where I met a friend of my friend from Sydney – let me just say, that this was totally by accident and yet super awesome. We took a bus down to Pike Place Market, where my husband and I were meeting a friend that I hadn’t seen in years. We had coffee at the first Starbucks and then he offered to show us around. So we drove north to where the Freemont Troll lives. Afterward, we went to the Ballard Locks to see if you could catch some salmon, but sadly they weren’t there. We did see some boats transitioning from sea water to river water, which was pretty cool. Then, he drove us to Kerry Park Viewpoint, which has one of the most amazing views of Seattle, but to him had a whole different meaning, since it was where he proposed to his wife. Before heading back to where he lives, he drove us to the Space Needle for me to go up and check out the view while my husband studied a bit at a coffee shop nearby. After that, he had a couple of hours before he going again to the conference, so we walked to where the Starbucks Reserve is – a must-see if you like coffee. After coffee, I walked back to Capitol Hill and headed to the Volunteer Park and Lakeview Seattle Cemetery – the last two items on my list of things to see in Seattle.

 

Portland, OR

Day 4

We woke up super early to catch the first Amtrak train to Portland. The vistas from the train were quite beautiful, and we passed by the galloping bridge, which was fun to see. We arrived in Portland around 11 a.m. and while looking for a tobacco shop for my husband, we accidentally found Portland’s courthouse, where the filmed the front of the Police Station from NBC’s Grimm – my husband and I are huge fans of the show. We made it to the tobacco shop and then soon after we went to Powel’s Books – that place is huge! We continued to walk downtown and found Portland’s City Hall – we are also big fans of Portlandia. We decided on checking the waterfront the next day, so we went straight to Voodoo doughnuts. It took us about an hour from the time we arrived at the time we got our doughnuts – totally worth it, though. Then, we took the MAX and the 57 bus to Forest Grove to meet some of Fabio’s friends from his first philosophy conference in the United States. This amazing group of people welcomed us in such a loving way.

Day 5

We went with them to church for Easter Service and spent the morning with them. We had an amazing BBQ lunch and said our goodbyes. My husband’s friend gave us a ride to downtown and told us we couldn’t leave Portland without having coffee at the Barista. After coffee, we walked Portland’s waterfront and before heading to the airport, we stopped at a beer bar for a drink. We took the MAX, which costs $2.50 dollars to the airport and in less than 45 minutes we were there.

After 87,550 steps, I was exhausted. I’m not used to walking this much. Still, this trip to Seattle and Portland was memorable. We got to see some amazing sights, do things that we weren’t expecting to be able to do, and hang out with amazing people. What else do you need? I’ll be posting more about ins-and-outs of this trip in future posts, but overall, this mini-vacation is on my list of most memorable trips I’ve made.

What’s the most memorable trip you’ve made?

Follow me on  Facebook – Bloglovin – Instagram

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 Days blog

11 thoughts on “5 Days in Seattle and Portland

  1. Beautiful Pt. Reyes shots in your previous post. I enjoyed them lot. I never get down on the California coast, well, rarely. Last time was a couple years ago at Pacific Grove. I love the tide pools in that area. I enjoyed this post too; I live in Portland.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The California coast is amazing. Sadly we didn’t have enough time to se the Oregon coast. I’ve seen pictures and it seems beautiful too. We could easily move to Portland, the public transport was enough to sell me to Portland.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gum Wall?? Where is that? I went to Seattle ten years ago, and haven’t been there since, but I know we never saw the Gum Wall! It probably didn’t exist then. I enjoyed Seattle though – most fun was the Solstice Parade that took place while we were there. Very creative! There was everything from painted nude gay guys on bikes to a little old man wheeling a cart filled with marijuana plants!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

