Sunday Watch: This Is Us

NBC released last summer a new TV show that changed my view on watching family dramas. This Is Us is such a moving show that I simply couldn’t stop watching. Showing both the past and present of the Pearson’s life, it challenges you into thinking how important the little things are in every relationship.

This Is Us- Season 1

The story follows the lives of siblings Randall (Sterling K. Brown), Kate (Chrissy Metz), and Kevin Pearson (Justin Hartley). The three are all going through different problems in their lives. Kevin is an actor that is tired of being just a pretty face, Kate has strongly decided to change her lifestyle and become more healthy and Randall recently was able to reach his birth father. The three were raised by Jack (Milo Ventimiglia)and Rebecca (Mandy Moore) Pearson, a couple who as life goes by are constantly needing to adapt to the new challenges that parenthood brings them. As the story is being told about how the three siblings are discovering who they want to become in the present time, the story also flashbacks to a time when their parents were trying to figure out how to raise three very different children as well as keep their relationship strong.

I decided to give This Is Us a chance after watching an interview with one of the writers of the show. It got me intrigued when she mentioned how they based the stories on events that happened in their own lives. I don’t usually go for family dramas, they usually feel a tap unrealistic in my opinion; This Is Us, on the other hand, portrays a life that is believable – I can relate to their life experiences. Another thing that I like about the show is the different timelines. It’s not just about what’s happening in the present, but also how they got there; and they never give you the full picture of what’s going on, or what happened in the past, just enough to explain the current situation and still leave you wanting to know more about them. I was so engaged by the story that I watched 5 straight episodes, went out with some friends, and watched another 3 when I got home.

I was never expecting to enjoy this family drama so much. I think that I’m at a point in my life that I’m thinking more about family issues and how to make my relationship with my husband successful. Or maybe it’s just Milo Ventimiglia. *wink wink*

  • Where to watch: NBC and Hulu
  • How long are the episodes: 45′
  • IMDB rating: 9/10
  • My rating: 8.9/10

Have you watched This Is Us?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Watch: This Is Us

Leave a Reply

