Sunday Watch: The Good Place

Have you ever caught yourself thinking about what happens in the afterlife? I sure have, and also  Michael Schur, the creator of NBC’s hysterical show The Good Place.  Starring Ted Danson and Kristen Bell, you’re going to want to know what The Good Place is – Trust me on this one ( *wink*wink*).

the-good-place-1024x519

Eleanor Shellstrop (Kristen Bell) wakes up and realizes that she has died and moved on to The Good Place. She is greeted by Micheal (Ten Denson) who is the architect of the neighbourhood she was assigned to. Soon enough, she realized there is a mistake, and she should have been sent to The Bad Place instead. What is The Good Place you ask? To understand it, you should watch this next short clip taken from the show itself.

Eleanor meets Chidi (William Jackson Harper), an Ethics Professor, who is supposed to be her soulmate. She confides in him that she is not supposed to be there and he is faced with a moral dilema: does he tell the truth and lets her be sent to The Bad Place? or does he help her become a better person, but lies to Micheal about where she should really be? Eleanor and Chidi embark in ethics lessons in the hopes of her learning how to become a better person. Her first big challenge is her neighbor, Tahani  (Jameela Jamil) a British philanthropist whose soulmate is Jianyu (Manny Jacinto), a Buddhist monk who is still keeping his vow of silence. They are all guided by Janet (D’Arcy Carden), who in simple words, is an omniscient database. They all soon realize that Eleanor’s presence in The Good Place causes some disturbances in the neighborhood.

When I first heard about the concept of the show, I was curious to see what it was all about. I wasn’t expecting much, to be honest; usually, shows about the afterlife tend to not agree with my personal beliefs as a Christian, so I don’t usually watch them. That said, when I heard that Ted Denson was one of the main characters of the show, I thought I had to give it a try – I’ve always been a big fan of his. So I did and was impressed with how well they managed to explain the afterlife without making me feel internally itchy. Not to mention that Kristen Bell is hilarious in the role of Eleanor. Moreover, the whole show is really well cast, I’m really enjoying everything about the show. Micheal Schurr is also the creator of some of my favorite shows as Parks and Rec and Brooklyn 99. It’s a clean type of humor that depends on good characters; by that, I mean characters that are genuinely good people. It’s a good change from the habitual bad words, sex and drugs type of humor. This is currently my go-to show when I need a quick dose of happy.

le-casting-de-the-good-place

  • Where to watch: Hulu and NBC
  • How long are the episodes: 30′
  • MDB rating: 7.4/10
  • My rating: 9.5/10

Have you already watched The Good Place? What did you think of it?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

9 Replies to “Sunday Watch: The Good Place”

  1. Thanks for the great review. We are currently finishing Parenthood (with Kristen’s husband Dax Shepard) and hate to see that end. We find some of these later and power through them. Nice to hear about another good one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard only good things about Parenthood, but it seems to be a bit too dramatic for my taste. During this current phase of my life, I need to watch things that make me happy inside, and keep me in an optimistic view of life.
      That said, I hate that feeling when a show is about to end. We get so involved in the lives of the characters, that we just don’t want it to end. My husband and I finished The Sopranos yesterday.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s one we have not seen. Did you like it? I agree that in Parenthood there is drama, but we loved the actors and their characters, and there is plenty of humor. Many laugh out loud scenes. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. All right then, I shall give it a try! It took me some time to get into The Sopranos, but at one point you really get into the show once you get passed the violence. But the story is great, you can really relate to their family.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

