Thai Green Curry

 

00_green curry

I’m a huge fan of Jamie Oliver, and I’ve been a fan ever since he was a young chef on the TV Show  The Naked Chef. I have learned so much about cooking watching his shows that you have no idea! My husband, when we were still dating, knew that, so on my first birthday together he gave me Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals cookbook. I must admit that I’ve never followed any of the recipes step-by-step, but still I love this book. I use it as inspiration and guidance for when I want to try new foods or new combinations.

Some time ago, I was dying for Thai curry but didn’t have any curry paste. So I remembered seeing a recipe in Jamie’s book and decided to try it out. Problem is, I didn’t find some of the ingredients at the store, so I adapted it a little bit and it ended up delicious.

 

jamie oliver green curry

I’m probably cheating by saying it’s curry, even so, the freshness of the coriander together with the ginger and the smoothness of the coconut milk are still there. It’s enough to ease my craving for Thai curry. The curry I’m making here is vegetarian, and you can add julienne carrots or other vegetables you might have in your fridge. If you want, you can add a protein to it. I bet some shrimp in it would taste heavenly.

Even though this recipe doesn’t need store bought curry paste, you still need to make it. It’s important to state that I don’t have a food processor, and my life would be so much easier if I had one. Since I don’t, I make it work with my blender. All the instructions are based on that. But if you have a food processor please use it. Much faster and easier.

jamie oliver green curry

Ingredients:

  • 1-inch piece of  fresh ginger
  • 1 lime
  • 2 fresh jalapenos (ideally red chillies)
  • 3 leaves of kaffir lime (optional)
  • 1 bunch coriander
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 3 bunches of spring onions
  • 1 lb of fresh green beans
  • 1/2 onion sliced
  • olive oil (ideally sesame oil)
  • 1 1/4 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • soy sauce

Instructions

  1. Making the paste:
    1. Roughly chop the ginger, kaffir lime leaves, garlic and spring onions. Pulse them a few time in the blender until it makes a rough paste. Add olive oil as needed.
    2. Roughly chop the coriander and add it to the paste in the blender. Add soy sauce and the juice of half a lime until it becomes a paste.
    3. Add more olive oil if needed.
  2. Thinly slice onions and trim the ends of the green beans (F.Y.I.: My husband chopped the onions instead of slicing them, so if it doesn’t look sliced in the pictures, that’s why).
  3. Put the green paste in a pan and add the chicken stock on medium-high heat until it boils.
  4. Add the green beans and onions.
  5. Add the coconut milk and check the taste. Add more soy sauce, salt or lime juice if needed.
  6. Bring it to a boil, then turn it down to thick.
  7. Serve with jasmine rice or rice noodles.

This recipe is a big favorite in my house and I don’t make it as often as I should. Maybe when I finally give myself a food processor I will. If you want to try Jamie Oliver’s original recipe, it’s pretty much the same, but with more ingredients. Not to mention that it’s a full meal, with more delicious food.

 

jamie oliver green curry

 

Have you ever made Thai curry at home? What would you make for a special dinner with your family?

5 Replies to “Thai Green Curry”

  1. I’m quite lazy these days about cooking so I often use the pastes for curry. I usually make Indian style curry but sometimes Thai red curry/massaman. This looks lovely, I love coriander 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

