Homemade Pizza – Why we make pizzas at home

homemade pizza

Ordering pizza or buying frozen from the store can be as practical as it sounds, but is it really worth putting all those added preservatives, extra salt and fat in our bodies? My husband and I have recently decided to start making our own pizzas. This is part one of a two-part post about making pizza at home, where I share with you the reasons why we started making them at home. And here they are:

  1. It’s more affordable. We live on a tight budget, so we try to make thigs with the lowest possible cost without losing quality. And if you stop to think that most the ingredients you need to make the dough you probably have them at home, the dough ends up being “free”. I found this post on The Frugal Girl, and she did the math on what would cost to make a basic pizza dough at home if you want to check it out. Depending on what toppings you choose, your pizza will be a lot cheaper than and much more flavourful. I usually plan our meals, so the toppings we put on our pizzas are also used in other meals, making the toppings “free” too! Every now and again, we buy something specifically for the pizza (like the pepperoni you see in the picture), and it still will be cheaper and have better quality than a store bought or delivery pizza.
  2. Less fat and salt. As I mentioned before, when making your pizza at home you control the quality of the products. So you can buy real pepperoni and not the cheap stuff probably used on cheap delivery pizzas. Also, we noticed that the amount of added salt in the pizzas here in the U.S. is much higher than what we were used to in Brazil. So all pizzas here, for us, end up being too salty. By making it at home, with less salt, it’s way healthier. And let’s be honest, am I the only one who looks at the frozen pizzas and questions the freshness of the ingredients? I rather know where my food came from and have no doubts about what’s in it.
  3. We can add any topping we want. And this is the fun part! Pizza is a blank canvas and you can put pretty much anything. We have used mushrooms, onions, bell peppers, pepperoni, chorizo, pesto, salami, turkey… I feel I could go on with the toppings, not to mention the different sauces you can use. We also tried sweet pizzas, but we haven’t mastered those. Also, if you’re allergic to something, or perhaps you’re gluten free, you can change all the ingredients want. My husband is nostalgic about the stroganoff pizzas he used to eat in the hometown in Brazil, but for obvious reasons, we still haven’t tried it.
  4. It doesn’t take as long as you think. Ok, let me start by saying that to make dough it does take time since you need to let the dough prove. But, if you’re in a hurry, you can shorten this process to the amount of time you have. I’m not a professional, but from my experience, it’s not the end of the world if the dough doesn’t rest. You can also make it ahead and freeze it. Just pop it out of the freezer some time during lunch, and by the time you want to make the pizza for dinner it’s ready. But, once that’s done, it should take about 30′. If you order delivery it could take a lot more than that.
  5. It’s fun. And the is  the ultimate reason why we make pizza at home. It’s a fun date for us. Fabio works on the dough, I prep the toppings, and we put them on the pizza together. We’re both in the kitchen talking, having fun. It’s really rewarding once the pizza is ready and we’re eating something we made together. I’m really looking forward to next time I’m in Brazil with my family and making some pizzas with my niece. I bet she’ll love making it. I imagine it would be a fun experience for kids since they get to make something and learn where their food came from. We had a pizza party the other night and everyone had fun putting together ingredients for pizza.

Overall, making food at home is always better than buying it ready, or ordering delivery. We’re not saints – I have the pizza delivery’s number on my phone, and we order in every now and again. However, I have to admit, I always end up regretting not making it ourselves.

Keep an eye out for part two of making pizza at home. I’m waiting for next time we make pizza so you can take a look a the process.

What foods do you enjoy making at home?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

12 Replies to “Homemade Pizza – Why we make pizzas at home”

    1. Part 2 has all the details about dough and toppings 😉 It’s already scheduled for the same time next week. So you’ll have to wait a bit.
      But if you wanna try something soon, tip is pick three things to put on a pizza and that’ll work. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, on Wednesday you’ll see part two and more on how we do it. I have to admit one thing, though. My husband and I had pizza just last night and we realized that our dough needs some changing. But since I have already written part 2 and I’m currently out of town I’ll leave it as it is.
      What do you put on a Slovak pizza?

      Like

Leave a Reply

