Sunday Watch: The Last Man on Earth

The apocalypse has always been a fascinating topic in the tv business. Personally, I enjoy the topic. I don’t know how to explain this fascination, but it is interesting, and if I thought I was the only one to like it, there wouldn’t be so many different kinds of tv shows about it. A few weeks ago I posted about You Me and the Apocalypse, and I’m here again to share my views on a different post-apocalyptic view of the world: Fox’s The Last Man on Earth.

last man on earth

A terrible disease has spread all over the world, and it is believed that all humanity is dead, expect Phil Miller (Will Forte). He travels the United States in search of other people who also were immune to the virus announcing that he was:

alive in tucson

Once he has traveled all over the contiguous United States without finding a single soul, he then returns to Tuscon believing he is the sole survivor of the virus and decided to live his last days doing whatever he feels like. From driving in on the wrong side of the road without a seatbelt to drinking in a pool of Marguerita. There is no one to judge him, so he does whatever he wants, including not wearing pants. He eventually gets bored and lonely and is about to give up when he meets Carol Pilbasian (Kristen Shcaal), another survivor of the virus. She believes in the exact opposite of Phil, i.e. that rules were made for a reason, so people should still follow them. Despite their differences, Phil and Carol decide to get married in order to re-populate the planet. Soon they meet the beautiful Melissa Shart (January Jones) who is prone to re-populating the planet, but not so much about having to do it with Phil, whose behavior is far from truthful and conventional. Later on, they meet other survivors, but I’ll leave it at that for now – I don’t want people blaming me for spoilers.

I started watching this show as a recommendation from my cousin. She and I have similar tastes in tv and movies, so when she first started it she immediately told me about it. As I’ve mentioned before, I like post-apocalyptic shows, but I started getting kind of irritated by Phil. So I put this one on hold until a couple of weeks ago. And I started growing fond of Phil. I began to understand that despite his lack of social skills, he has good intentions. He wants people to like him, it’s just that he doesn’t know how to do it. I now can’t stop cheering for him and feel disappointed when the group doesn’t understand him.

The show is still on its second season, and Fox has already confirmed a third season. I’m still not quite caught up with it, but I’m already excited for season 3. This show has a great balance between comedy and drama, which I think is needed when you have a dying world. Overall it’s a great comedy to watch.

  • Where to watchHulu
  • How long are the episodes: 30′
  • IMDB rating: 7.4/10
  • My rating: 8.5/10

If you were the last person on earth:

last man on earth

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Watch: The Last Man on Earth

  1. So, I think I got through 2 episodes of this, maybe 3? I found the woman he meets (the first one) super annoying, which I know is the point. But I couldn’t get past that, at least at the time. Should I try and stick it out?

    Like

    1. I think the first time I saw it was up to episode 5 or 6. And have up. Things is… They are super annoying and it is the point, but they grow on you. Maybe you should try a but love longer. Season 2 is much better, so… I gave it a second try and didn’t regret.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

