Sunday Watch: Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Can you think of something better than a big fat laugh? Ok… probably a bunch of stuff. But I bet that it’s in your top 10 things to do. Picture laughing so hard that your belly aches and you fall to the ground laugh, which has happened to me on quite a few occasions. Some of them were while watching The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

unbreakable-kimmy-schmidt

Picture being 14 years-old and living somewhere in the middle of Indiana (if you’re not from the U.S. imagine somewhere in your country where there isn’t much besides farming) and a crazy preacher convinces you that the world is about to end and you should follow him to an underground bunker. 15 years later you find out that the world hasn’t ended. How do you think you would see the world? Now imagine Tina Fey telling this story***.

Kimmy Schmidt (Ellie Kemper) is that girl and she can’t wait to see and experience all that she missed while abducted. With the help of her friend and roommate, Titus Andromedon*** (Tituss Burgess), a failed singer-actor. She explores life as a grown-up (who is an adult***) in New York and is desperately trying to catch up with what she missed while in the bunker. Kimmy is extremely optimist about all her life events since live can’t be worse than living in a bunker. This leads to the most unbelievable scenarios, including at the house she works as a nanny for Jacqueline Voorhees (Jane Krakowski).

What I love about this show is how clever the jokes are. It’s the kind of show that doesn’t need bad language to be funny. It’s all about everyday situations which are made funny. Tina Fey and Robert Carlock are doing, in my insignificant opinion, a great job. It’s always a breath of fresh air to see a show that it’s just funny, and you can watch it with your grandmother and your kids and no-one will be offended. From what I read online, The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt was originally intended for NBC, so they had to think about a funny and clean TV show. Now that they are more free with Netflix, Tina Fey and Robert Carlock realized that they don’t need to appeal to obvious jokes and they’ll still be a huge hit.

Honestly, I’m don’t think I’m doing a great job in expressing how funny this show is. So take a look at the show’s opening***. And then see for yourself what you think about it.

Can you see it now? No? Here’s another one ***:

My husband and I can’t see a bottle of Pinot Noir without laughing***. I’m not kidding. I’ve caught myself so many times quoting lines from this show in real conversations. I think one of my favorite is: “Your experiences are not universal.” *** Or “Just take it 10 seconds at a time.” *** As you’ve probably noticed, quoting stuff from TV is my reference to when something is outstanding. But it’s not just quoting, whenever I see something that reminds me of Kimmy, I’ll just burst into laughing and no one will understand why. Just so you can picture what I mean: I have purposefully added *** to this blog, these are all the moments that I stopped and laughed thinking about the show.

Netflix will release season 2 in about a month, and I can’t wait for it to some out. I’m so looking forward to seeing what’s next on Kimmy’s journey. I’ve gotten so attached to Kimmy that I refer to her as a personal friend. So what I do when I miss her? I watch it all over again. I’ve probably seen the entire 1st season about 3 or 4 times now. And only this many times, because my husband thinks I shouldn’t watch it again. So if you haven’t yet seen it, you’ve got plenty of time to watch the entire frist season before they release season 2!

  • Where to watch: Netflix
  • How long are the episodes: around 30′.
  • IMDB rating: 8/10
  • My rating: 10/10

If locked in a bunker for 15 years, what would be the first thing you would do?

9 thoughts on “Sunday Watch: Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

Leave a Reply

