Sunday Watch: Arrested Development

Hello everyone! Last week I started sharing with you the TV shows that help keep me busy. And the TV Show I am currently addicted to is Arrested Development. I remember it being on TV in the early 2000’s, but for some reason I didn’t find it interesting at the time. I don’t know if it was the jokes that I didn’t get, or that it was narrated. Perhaps the whole plot didn’t appeal to me. But a few months ago I realized that I had watched pretty much everything that looked appealing to me on both Netflix and Amazon Prime. That lead me to expand my filter on what shows to watch. Soon I caught myself watching Arrested Development non-stop.

arrested-development

“Now the story of a wealthy family who lost everything, and the one son who had no choice but to keep them all together.”

These are the words narrated at the beginning of each episode, which pretty much describe what you need to know about the show. It’s about a rich family, with spoiled grown children and the one son – Micheal Bluth – played by Jason Bateman, who is the sanest in the family, so he tries his best to not let the family break apart. The fact that it is narrated, in my opinion, is one of the things that make the show work. Ron Howard is the omniscient narrator, who lets you in all the secrets of the Bluth family. With his calm voice (and a lot of sarcasm), he is an extra character in the story. His narration has a way of making what was already a funny joke into something funnier.

The family is quite big, besides Michel, George (Jeffrey Tambor) and Lucille Bluth (Jessica Walter) have three children: the oldest Gob (Will Arnett), whose name is pronounced [job], is a wanna-be magician, who is constantly trying to get his family’s approval; Lindsey (Portia de Rossi) is Michael’s twin sister, she’s married to Tobias (David Cross) who decides he wants to be an actor; and lastly, Buster (Tony Hale), who is a professional graduate student with no real-life skills. The last two members of the family are George-Micheal (Micheal Cera) Michael’s son and Maeby (Alia Shawkat), Lindsey’s daughter. Each family member plays an important role creating the most unusual situations, which then Micheal  (usually unappreciated) need to find a way to get them out of their own mess.

Arrested Development is one of the most hilarious shows I have seen lately. There are a ton of punch lines that my husband and I constantly keep repeating to each other – my husband can’t stop saying “Micheal!” for some reason (click on the link if you are curious why). Also, the jokes are clever. There are a ton of puns and little things characters do that are incredibly unexpected and terribly amusing . All situations end up being the opposite of what you had expected to happen. However at the same time, this is not a Ha Ha Ha kind of show, you need to pay attention and read between the lines to get the jokes and understand what they are actually saying – and sometimes this is quite literal. All this points out to the kind of humor that I – now – really appreciate; consequently, recommending the show.

When it aired on Fox, there were only three seasons. But in 2013, a fourth season was released on Netflix. We are currently watching this fourth season and so far it is as great as it was 10 years ago. Another great win for Mitchell Hurwitz, the producer.

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Watch: Arrested Development

  1. I’m with you – I never watched this when it was actually on TV. And then my husband and I binge-watched it later and LOVED it! We never were able to quite finish the Netflix reboot though. I’m sure we’ll go back and finish that season someday. Buster – “I’m a monster!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

