Sunday Watch: Bored to Death

Recently I’ve realized that one of the things that keep me busy the most is binge watching. I have always been fascinated by TV and Cinema. So I have decided to share with you the TV shows and movies which help me pass time.

bored-to-death-hbo-season2-poster-550x816

This week’s show is called Bored to Death. This HBO show, created by Jonathan Ames, was aired during the years of 2009 to 2011. It’s a story about a novelist, Jonathan Ames (played by Jason Schwartzman), who while trying to find inspiration to write his second novel, decides to put an add on Craig’s List as a private detective. This leads him to a series of crazy adventures with his two best friends, George Christopher (Ted Danson) a magazine editor, and Ray Hueston (Zach Galifianakis) a comic book artist. Bored to Death is mainly a comedy show, but filled with unexpected action and excitement through Jonathan’s private-eye jobs. The relation between all the characters is hilarious. Ray and Jonathan are best friends, they would do anything for each other, even things that are not quite conventional. George plays a father-figure to Jonathan, which makes them completely co-dependent. Also, George is bored, so he’s up to anything that will shake his routine a little, and this is something that I completely relate myself to.

My husband and I watched the show’s three season during our winter break. We simply couldn’t stop. With each episode, we enjoyed more and more its sense of humor and each character’s growth. When we finally reached the last episode it was quite sad saying goodbye. It was a great last episode, though. The only thing that I didn’t quite appreciate is the amount of marijuana they smoke. It obviously creates ridiculous situations that are impossible not to laugh, but at the same time, I think using sex, drugs and violence on any show is just too easy. Well, I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised with what people find funny nowadays. Having said that, it is still one of the best show’s I’ve watched recently.

Have you ever watched Bored to Death? What did you think about it? If not, would you consider watching it?

6 Replies to “Sunday Watch: Bored to Death”

Leave a Reply

