Happy Birhday to Me!

birthday
Birthday!

It’s my birthday today! I am now 31-years-old! Can you believe that?! I sure can’t. I have never pictured myself as an actual grown-up and I guess that being 31 makes it impossible to pretend I’m not. I have pictured myself as a 30-year-old person, and I was fine with that last year. But turning 31 makes it a bit weird. I don’t know why, though.

My husband had asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I said that I wanted doughnuts for breakfast. There’s an amazing doughnut shop near us called Sweet Dozen. It’s so good that we need to come up with special reasons to go there so we don’t go all the time. So this is what I woke up to this morning:

sweet dozen sacramento
I have the best husband ever, don’t I?

Anyways… For the last couple of years, I stopped having birthday parties or celebrating it with tons of people around me. Don’t get me wrong… I’m not trying to hide how old I am, and it’s not that I don’t like my birthday. I love not being in my twenties anymore and I love my birthday. It’s just that I’m feeling more introspective.

So I stopped to reflect on how far I’ve grown the last year and where I want to be next year. I guess it’s the same of what some people do on New Year’s day. Well, since blogging is sharing. I have decided to share my birthday thoughts with you.

Looking back…
Honestly, I’m not sure I was able to grow much this last year. I’ve done a lot, but I haven’t grown much, especially professionally which is something that bothers me a lot. But it comes with supporting your spouse. And if I can keep reminding myself of why I’m in this hiatus I’ll be fine. What I can say is that I know I’ve grown much spiritually. As a Christian, I’ve gone back to serving the Lord and I am more conscious of my alone time with Him, which is something that I need. Also, I have been able to be more regular with my yoga practices. Actually, combining yoga and my meditation with my alone time with God has been something that has helped me with both of those aspects of my life. Lastly, I feel like I’m less anxious compared to last year. I’ve learned more about myself and I feel as if I can control my emotions better. Well… look at that! I guess I have grown a lot after all.

Looking forwards…
I’m not sure if I’ll be able to go back to work by my next birthday, but I hope to be able to find something that’ll help me focus and establish a routine. I want to continue some of these new habits I have developed and make them even more regular. I think I can do that. I want to be better and better with my photography. Lastly, I want to look back and realized that I have complained less. Yeah… That’s totally doable, right?

broken cycle

I choose this picture as a metaphor for how I am feeling today. Black and white, because it shows more depth and more contrast; a long cycle that sometimes looks like it’s broken, but it’s not.

I would like to say ‘thank you’ to all the people everywhere who are wishing me a happy birthday. It means a lot to me that people have taken some of their time to think of me and wish we well. My husband says he has more surprises for today. Let’s wait and see… What I’d love to know is how you spend your birthday? Share it with me on the comment section bellow. And I’ll see you all next time.

13 Replies to “Happy Birhday to Me!”

  1. I can totally relate to the ‘not quite feeling like a grown-up’ thing. When I was a kid, I knew that my mom got married at 25, so in my mind, that was a pretty grown-up age. I hit it and thought, “Right. Here it is. Grown up.” Nope… not really. I hit 30, and thought the same. Felt a bit more grown up, but not entirely. I’m almost 50. I do feel grown up, finally, but never want to stop being a kid at the same time.

    Happy birthday. Happy growth. Happy exploring what makes you happy.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your doughnuts!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Happy Birthday! I agree with you – I still feel young at heart (I guess 30s still is young), but I do find myself feeling a little more “adult” every day. 🙂 Those donuts look delicious! I haven’t had a donut in such a long time! Good thing I don’t live by that donut shop. Enjoy your day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday Camila ❤ Those donuts look divine – what a great way to start your b'day. I'm turning 40 this year and have a 20 year old daughter and still don't feel grown up 😉 I guess it's all about your attitude. Did you see the video of the 106 year old lady who met Obama? That dear lady is a great role model for anyone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

